Allotment

I'm down here doing a bit of weeding. I moved the chickens over a bit so that they have fresh grass. It's amazing how quickly they reduce their patch to bare earth. Jon cut the rest of the allotment grass as it was long with weeds and the seeds just fly on to the bits I've just dug. It is going to be a long job. For now, the mange tout look healthy and are flowering. The raspberries are full of fruit and I hope my nets will be enough to protect most of them. Potatoes look ok ish. Courgettes have gone on strike and runner beans - well they may as well not bother.

I'm about finished now but have found more raspberries completely cloaked in tall grass and weed, next to the gooseberry bush, so I'm on my hands and knees trying to free them a bit.

It is very quiet and peaceful here, just a few birds chattering bedtime stories. I supposed I will have to go home soon. Still no lights on my bike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.