Olive tree, Hoddesdon

After the family (minus 1) 6 monthly dentist check up first thing this morning, Mollie and I went shopping. Big mistake letting me go, as we spent a lot more than when Jon does it. We will be back on track next week when the job falls back on Jon! Meanwhile, Jon and Henry went back home to pick up the trailer. Jon then collected stuff he needed to do the job in Hoddesdon and then went to the osteopath.

Mollie took Henry over to Sheringham for a haircut; they are home alone at the weekend. When Jon got back we loaded the car up with weekend stuff and drove to Hoddesdon. We stopped on the way to eat the sandwiches I’d made, and arrived at mum’s at about 3.30. The plan is to replace a small garage roof which is leaking and rotten.

It didn’t start very well, as I trapped my finger when opening the gate, which squeezed on my ring so hard it squashed it completely out of shape and the diamond cut into my finger. My finger immediately started to swell and there was no way my misshapen ring was coming off my finger. I was panicking, but the ring had already broken through at the back, so Jon used his pliers and managed to manoeuvre it off my finger. I do hope my ring can be reshaped.

After a cup of tea we cleared out a bit of rubbish (cardboard and rags that were soaking from the rain) from the shed, and tidied up everything else. Manda dropped in to say hello. She is always rushing about. Then we had a lovely gammon and pease pudding dinner with home made plum crumble for pudding.

I’ve washed up with mum and now a bit of tv. This is one of mum’s olive trees. It is full of flowers. I wonder if they will mature to olives. It is a real sun trap, but I think I’ve read that you can’t grow olives here. I wonder!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.