Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A visit to Brighton

Today I was going on an organised tour of Brighton Royal Pavilion. However, I left home a bit earlier as I wanted to go past the poppies that Karen had blipped before our tour. She had explained more or less where they were and I was quite relieved to find them as I don't know my way around the Brighton area at all, but unfortunately they were past their best and very patchy. Still it made a pretty view, and I have included another one of that view.

Brighton Royal Pavilion was the holiday home of the Prince Regent who went on to become King George IV - he was the one who was the hedonistic playboy who led an extravagant lifestyle, and it is reflected in this palace. It was built over a long period of time, but the current appearance with domes and minarets is due to the work of John Nash which was started in 1815. Although it's outside appearance is influenced by Indian architecture (see extra) the inside is surprisingly Chinese in style, and extremely lavish and what we would today consider totally over the top! The Chinoise style was fashionable at the time although neither the prince nor the architect and designers had ever been to China, so it was all as they imagined Chinese style to be. No photos were allowed inside which was a pity as it is mind boggling! The tour guide made it so interesting too, I would highly recommend visiting it with a guide if you are ever in the area.

I was home at about 2pm and did my usual thing of tidying up after the painters had already made such a good attempt to do so. Tonight I am going to London as partners have been included in Gavin's work summer party, which is drinks and food at the Oxo Tower - do I take my camera, as the views will be fantastic from there?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.