A moment's Peace

Today was hot and busy and stressful!!
Ordinarily I get to my Thursday lessons about forty five minutes early. That gives me time to set up at a leisurely pace drinking a cup of tea while I do it, get things ready for the second lesson so changeover is easy, listen to a bit of music, perhaps send an email or two that I've been meaning to.....
All very easy and relaxing.
This morning I was bowling along as normal - enjoying the book of the week about Bees on Radio 4 and what a Big Mac would look like if there were no bees. Basically beef patties in a bun - until I got to Whitchurch and the traffic just stopped. 
It's one of those roads where to turn off and go round would take hours so I had no choice but to sit it out. 
At first I wasn't too worried, I had an hour before my first lesson started and I was only eight miles away.
We crawled along for the next forty minutes until we go to the obstruction. A random set of traffic lights meaning single file traffic. It was such a short coned off section between the lights that people were obviously going through on red causing gridlock. Grrrrrrrrrr!!
Once I was through I got stopped by every single red light in Aylesbury. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!
I got to the hall at exactly 11am to find all the mums and babies sat out on the grass in the sun.
In the boiling heat I bundled all my stuff in (normally two trips!!) set up at the speed of light, tried not to laugh at the sight of all the mum's crawling around on the floor trying to fit the mats together - as one of them said it was like a team building exercise!!
Sweating and flustered I plugged in the music, sat down, and with no preamble whatsoever sang the Hello song. 
Hideous!!!!!
It was Miss E's end of year Award Ceremony this afternoon and because I was running late I had to rush to get there in time. Rush, rush, rush, that's all I bloody do!!
I made it with about two minutes to spare, grabbed a couple of scones and a Bucks Fizz and took my seat.
No awards for Miss E this year but there was some nice singing and the guest speaker was good. It  was the actor Jonno Davis (see extras) talking about how he'd got into drama and turned something he loves into a career. He was more dressed than he is if you search Google Images for him but looked fairly dashing in suit trousers and waistcoat. I think he'll go far!!!
I was a bit depressed when he mentioned being 25 and I realised I'm old enough to be his mother. Sigh.
I had hoped to go home to collapse on the sofa until bed but then I remembered Miss E's 11+. Ugggghhhhh!
Mr K was at home so I left Miss L with him and set off. After dropping her off I went and parked in a shady lay-by and wrote a couple of Blips. 
With my seven year anniversary only a few days away I'm desperately trying to get up to date. It's an uphill challenge. There's two weeks in March I need to revisit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.