Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Carefree mobility

I was at the RPS Northern Documentary Group this morning. We meet in Kibblesworth Community Centre, just off the A1 Western Bypass, south of Newcastle. Members of our group travel from all parts of the northern region and we always have a lively discussion.

I love seeing other people's images and showing my own. We have ongoing projects: Café Culture and Coast at the moment, but we have done Country Fairs in the past. I had images for both projects, but the rest of my prints were of people working in Myanmar. I chose some where the light was low and where you had to look hard to see what was going on. Someone suggested I make them even darker!

Today, our leader, Gordon handed over to Pete. Gordon and his wife are moving south (a long way south) to be near their family. We will miss him because he has made sure there is a good atmosphere in the group and that we "play nicely".

My blip is of another group member, J, who has a special mobility vehicle because he is in a wheelchair. He was saying how good it is to be independent, but I suspect it can be very challenging. There has to be 8 feet free behind the van for the lift to come down and for J to manoeuvre his wheelchair onto it. If anyone parks behind he is snookered.

I like the image of him rising up, ready to make his next journey.

On my way home, I called at Sainsburys which is near to Kibblesworth, to make sure I had all the fresh fruit and veg I need for tomorrow when A and J come for a meal. They were walking the Pennine Way, but A's knees have given up on her.

Tonight's meal here was a culinary disaster. I had a pizza for us to share and used our new combi/microwave to cook it. It is supposed to be superb for pizzas. Hmmm!  The topping was completely frazzled and the dough went solid. We had to have cheese salad instead.

(If A or J read this, do not be alarmed. I rarely have such disasters.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.