The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Post-festival comedown

We returned from Hampshire at 2am. I had a shower and went to bed at about 2.50. Don't know what time I got up, but it was a relief NOT to hear the campsite's chemical toilets being hoovered out by a giant pump.with a lorry attached!

My sister K and her daughter J wanted to go down to the rope swing in the valley before they left, so we all had a good swing, a laugh and a walk, and took away some of the rubbish left by the late night partygoers. They left at about 2.30 pm, and at about 2.55 I found a pair of K's boots...

We raced down to Sainsbury's car park, because I knew they'd be shopping for high school trousers for J! Caught up, handed over the footwear, and returned, to keep on attempting to tidy up. My brain has a no-sleep hangover. Thinking is painfully slow. Still, I am getting there. Washing in the machine; mattress back upstairs, with tent; melamine plates in the dishwasher ; sleeping bags airing in the garden.

Tomorrow, work. I have nothing for my packed lunch. It feels like a John Cooper Clarke type of day:

'She left her heart in Frisco
She left her room in a mess
She left her hat at the disco
Sh never left her address'.

Watch this space for some backblips from the Wickham festival.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.