One Man Went to Mow

Went to mow his meadow - I've got that nursery rhyme on my mind now!

The farmer has been very busy harvesting the field next to us, but this year because of the good weather, his crop has been stunted so he's not been able to make the big round bales.  It's a shame the girls aren't here this week, as these rectangular bales would be much easier for them to climb on!

I cycled to work again today, but was quite late leaving so I used a bit of power assist so that I could get there quicker.  There were quite a lot of people already out and about, once I got to the pier, I guess they're the visitors that were here for the Pride weekend.  Talking of which, it appears that it turned into chaos on Saturday night - Britney Spears was the main headline in the park and apparently there were about 57,000 there!  The main problem though was when everyone tried to get a train home - they station couldn't cope with the amount of people and not only was the station full, but so was the area leading up to the station, the buses and taxis couldn't run as the roads were full of people.

Hundreds decided to head to the beach to sleep there and the Brighton Centre was opened up for people to sleep there.  They had to bring in extra Coastguards to patrol the beaches as of course, people thought it would be a good idea to go skinny dipping after they'd been drinking!  Then once they'd left yesterday, the beaches were covered in litter, but credit to Brighton & Hove City Council as it's all been cleaned up.

At lunch time I went down to the beach and found a nice patch of sand to sit on!  And tonight on my cycle home, I saw my friend Sian on her sun lounger in front of her beach hut and once she saw me she offered to open a bottle of prosecco - it would have been rude to say no wouldn't it?  It was a very nice refreshment break and I sat there for an hour chatting before continuing on my way home.

We enjoyed the evening sat in the garden watching the farmer hard at work, I guess he's trying to get the bales away before the risk of any rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.