BERTIES BAR - STANLEY

I decided to get up early to book my flights.  They are for my trip to Boston in October when I will visit my blip friend justbe, and T --- and  RASPBERRY.  I was going to book last evening but I had noticed that the business class fare for the return leg from Boston to Dublin seemed quite a reasonable price ( almost half the price of the  business class  seat for the Dublin to Boston flight ).  It was obviously still a lot of money so I decided to sleep on it.  I also asked Mike if he thought it was a good deal - he got back to me this morning and agreed it was.   So I have gone ahead with it.  It will be a nice treat as I haven't flown Business Class before - and as the flight is through the night it has the extra benefit of a seat which lies flat if I want to sleep.  So 4 flights are booked, 4 seats are booked, meals are booked  and baggage is booked in - and I'm good to go.

This afternoon I got the bus to Stanley.  Last time I was there wasn't too long ago but today it seemed like the place had gone downhill since then.  So many shops weren't open.  I did shopping in Asda and I mentioned to the lady on the checkout about all the closed shops.  She said that the small businesses tend to close early if they aren't busy.  So I guess it was a very slow shopping day in Stanley as so many shops were shut.

My blip shot is of Berties Bar in Front Street.  Still derelict and has been since an arson attack in 2013.  The fire also destroyed an estate agents, a  hair salon and pizza takeaway. I have tagged my blip for derelict Sunday.  Thanks to Marlieske for hosting

I'm blipping late as this evening I have been sorting out my travel insurance online. ( Apparently it best to book as soon as you have paid for flight etc.)  So many questions.  I have a few pre- existing medical conditions so of course they had to be listed as well as the tablets I take and whether I had seen a doctor recently and what for etc.  So time consuming... and nerve wracking as you need to get it right.  All done now though - just hope I didn't forget anything.

Steps today - 6,921

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.