DAY 5 - TUESDAY 8TH AUGUST

HEADING HOME, TRAINS AND RAIN

Becky and Mike left early for work. I had breakfast, finished packing and at 8.30am I set off for the train station.  Mike had checked online for a better route into London which didn't involve changing at Victoria and we decided it was best to walk to Wivelsfield Station where I could catch a train direct to St Pancras.  So I followed Mike's directions to the station - took around 25 mins.

Train came on time - when it stopped at Blackfriars station I saw this wonderful view so I quickly got my camera out. 

The train took around 1 hr 15 mins  to get to St Pancras.  I was in good time for my train to Newcastle so I mooched around St Pancras for a while before walking across the road to Kings Cross Station.  I have put photos of St Pancras and Kings Cross in my extras.

Caught the 12.30pm train to Newcastle. Journey back was trouble free.  I was in First Class again and I chose Moroccan lamb with cous cous for my meal - plus a bag of crisps and a chocolate muffin.  The weather in Burgess Hill and London had been dry and warm but as the train travelled North the weather got steadily worse and when we reached Newcastle it was raining very heavily.  Luckily I was able to catch a bus quite near the station so I didn't get too wet.

After a long day of travel I finally got home around 5pm.

Unpacked and put a load of washing on before having something to eat. 

So that's been my long weekend away.  Really enjoyed seeing Becky and Mike - and seeing their house for the first time.  They do love living in Burgess Hill but the commute to work is very time consuming ( 2 hours each way ) and stressful. 

The cats survived without me.  The cat sitter posted photos on the Facebook page every day.  Actually it was only photos of Tino as she never saw Lily the whole time I was away - apart from once on the front windowsill - and as soon as she opened the front door Lily must have scooted off to hide.   I have made a big fuss of both kitties  since I got back.

I have backblipped

FRIDAY

SATURDAY

SUNDAY

MONDAY 

Steps today - 10,065

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.