At the Car Wash

Every time I've taken the Little Misses to Apple Camp this Summer I have meant to clear out my car and take it to the valet place in the car park. With only two sessions to go I decided today was the day!
I emptied out all the hats, socks, straws, toys, jewellery, books, pens, shoes, pots of slime, string, bags, notepads and hoodies into a bag for life, as well as binning all the crisp packets, sweet wrappers, mummified chips and apple cores.
As ever when I clear it all out I vow not to let it get so bad again. We'll see!!
I parked in the valet spaces and booked it in for a clean inside and out.
Two hours later I came back and was pleased to see it looking all sparkling clean and shiny. The photo is a before shot!!
I paid the man which was easier said than done as he didn't have a word of English, his credit card machine wasn't working and he didn't have any change.
As I walked up to the car - which the Little Misses were sat inside - I was a little surprised to see it was still filthy dirty requiring a hoover and polish.
The man came over as I opened my door and through sign language and and pigeon English explained that he hadn't done the inside as it had been locked.
Er no, it wasn't!!
The Little Misses being sat in it while I was sorting the bill was proof of that.
Sigh.
And why had he charged me the full amount for an inside and out valet??????
I went and picked up my two ten pound notes and said I wasn't paying for £20 to have the outside of my car cleaned.
He said I'd have to pay £7.95.
I said that's fine but you have no change and your credit card machine isn't working.
By now a crowd had gathered which was pretty mortifying. I think people thought I was refusing to pay so I had to explain.
A woman in the queue kindly gave me change for a tenner so I could pay the man. And then, thankfully, we could leave.
The highlight of the afternoon was ordering a toaster from Argos which we can take camping with us tomorrow.
It's red and matches the kettle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.