Bravos and Birthdays

Yesterday I began the annual task of removing the bravos (suckers) on our olive trees, and did a lot more today. What took me a couple of days last year, I did in a morning, easily; they had been neglected and were huge and tangled last year. You can see them growing round the trunk on the foreground trees; I'd done the middle one (which holds one end of our clothes line).

In other news, today was our eldest's 31st birthday, sad not to be with her, but looked like her brother did a brilliant barbecue. What proud parents we were; what proud parents we still are. Has always been full of eagerness, and still is, even with a job, studying for a Master's, two small children, and endless hospitality. Not to mention Blipping. She's a wonder.

Meanwhile, we went to a Roma child's 9th birthday party; his Dad bought our olives last year. Can't remember the last time I ate so much sweet stuff, washed down with more sweet pop. And then there was a service in their church, first time I've been. People were lovely, friendly, welcoming, but the sound system was so loud, it was literally painful. Managed in the end by sticking balls of tissue in my ears, but they are still ringing. The party continues below us, with roasting meat and more music, see extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.