Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Boris prepares for the dismount

It is apparently the season for fly-lovin' because this was not the only pair of flies that I caught in flagrante delicto today.  I believe these are Friendly Flies (no, that's not a double entrendre or a joke) in the genus Sarcophaga.  But I could be way off base on this - flies are tricky to id.  Anyway, I thought it was kind of perfect for TT.  

Temperatures have warmed up today so there were loads of insects around the garden.  Definitely a great macro day.  And speaking of macro, I found yet another tiny first instar monarch cat in the garden today.  I snipped the leaf he was on, and brought him into the nursery where he is residing with what I really thought would be my last monarch of the season...  I also found some 3rd and 5th instars in the garden.  I've left them where they are as I can't put them in with my other cats for fear of bacterial or paristoid issues.  Nature will have to take its course.

Three big beautiful female monarchs were sent on their way today, all in honor of the nearly 3,000 souls who perished on this day 17 years ago.  It is hard to believe it has been so many years; when I think about it, the grief and horror still feel very raw.  Like many people all over the world, I will never forget the images and feelings from that awful day.  But life does go on, doesn't it?

On a happier note, I glanced out the window of my 2nd story work space to see a deer fawn racing through the back yard.  I thought surely something must be chasing him, but when I looked around I saw his mum standing patiently, watching while her youngster sped around the yard with a few leaps in the air, clearly just burning off some youthful energy.  Made me smile.

Looking forward to seeing all the TinyTuesday entries!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.