Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Open weekend 2

Oh dear, I'm so late tonight!  Scamper scamper!

Well today my plan to blip all four of Winchester's Heritage Open Days (as I now know they're called) slightly fell apart.  I wanted to do all sorts of nice things, like visiting the book bindery but so many events were full up.  Apparently I should have started to plan a month ago.  I would, if I'd known..

But at least there were a few things that you could just turn up for.  What I was left with today was the Great Hall, which I've blipped from several times before, but visitors shared the space with 4 musicians collectively called Courtlye Musick.  They played replica sackbuts, shawms, etc and sang Tudor love songs.  And actually they were wonderful.  I stayed an hour bowled out by the music and fighting the light (of which there was very little and all coming from behind - that was the challenge).

So this is one member of Courtlye Musick playing some sort of viol.  Phew!

Hope the evening's treating you well  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.