An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Birthday Boy...

My friend Janice was picking me up at lunchtime to meet up with our friend Fiona for lunch but beforehand I had to decorate the cake I had made for Alan's pal Andrew.

David left at 11am to pick Andrew up and I thought I would have time to get the cake fully decorated before they got back but I underestimated the time it would take.  I was just starting to place the first row of maltesers when they arrived back but Andrew still got a surprise and it was so lovely to see his face light up when he realised the cake was for him.  

I made this cake once before and made the wrong type of ganache to cover the cake so it hardened and all the maltesers pinged off!  This time I covered it in a soft chocolate butter cream icing instead and the maltesers stayed put.

I just finished putting the last malteser on when Janice arrived to pick me up.  Talk about cutting it fine!  I really am Mrs Last Minute!

Had a lovely lunch and catch up with Janice and Fiona thenJanice dropped me off back home just after 5pm.  Ally had taken Alan and Andrew out for the afternoon and they were just back and getting ready to go for a swim.  Lots of laughter coming from the pool as well as the music blaring!  I love hearing them enjoying themselves.

As ever Andrew wanted fish and chips and a strawberry milkshake for dinner.  Once he had eaten we cut the cake.  Saved a little slice for David and I and Jordan and gave Andrew the rest home with him.  

Andrew's all excited as we told him that our birthday pressie to him is to take him with us next year when we take Alan back to Kielder Water.  We are hoping to go in June next year but I wasn't sure if that tied in with when Andrew finishes college.  Turns out college ends in May so June would be possible.  

Told him all about the activities Alan did when we were there the last time (King Swing, canoeing, zip wire to name a few)  Can't decide if he's now excited or terrified at the thought of going! :-))

David's just back from taking Andrew home, I had hoped for a blip catch up but the activity of the last two days is catching up with me so time for bed.

Night night :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.