Indian Bean Tree

I like trees a lot. I always have. I remember when I was about 9 years old we had the option of doing a Summer holiday project on anything we wanted. I chose to collect & press the leaves of a variety of leaves and to mount & label them in a book. I blame my parents! Well someone must’ve put the idea into my head! Whatever the reason or influence, I freely admit I enjoyed doing it and was very proud of the result. I suspect it may even have been kept somewhere.

Anyway the point is, this Indian Bean Tree is new to me, so I had to look it up. Quite why it’s named so I do not know because it’s native region is SE United States. It has attractive scaly bark, heart shaped large leaves and panicles of bell shaped white flowers in mid Summer, followed by long slender inedible fruits.

This particular tree is in the College grounds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.