The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Hattie McDaniel

I'm watching Black.Hollywood (part one). Here Hattie.is, accepting her Oscar:
Hattie McDaniel was an American stage actress, professional singer-songwriter, and comedian. She is best known for her role as "Mammy" in Gone with the Wind, for which she won the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress, the first Academy Award won by an African American entertainer. (Wikipedia)

This isn't the picture I intended to take. A few minor difficulties with my stall were ironed out and I ended up having the best stall layout ever, on both days. Naturally I meant to take a picture...

When I got up this morning, something was wrong. Bomble was silent, not following me around, begging for food. I found him in his bed, unable to lie down, just sitting, reluctant to move. I gave him some food, but he walked stiffly, almost collapsing.I put some Star of Bethlehem remedy for shock and trauma on his collar area, and had to leave him to go to the market.

During the morning I fretted and tried to get my neighbour to take him to the vet (she didn't answer). Eventually I did the rounds of the pet shops and ended up with some antibiotic powder, as I presumed he'd been bitten during a fight around midnight last night.

Later, a friend collected me from the market (where I'd had a busy and successful day) and I rushed home to see Bomble, who had managed to move, and lie down. I popped over to Gari's to watch a film (This Beautiful Fantastic) with some mutual friends, then got a lift to the house sit to see to the ginger cat, Tom, one last time. One more lift home, then back to Bomble. He is eating now, and lying across my lap, but still wobbly.

Tomorrow, thank goodness, is my day of rest.






.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.