PINKTOBER 14 - A DIAMOND WEDDING ANNIVERSARY

Mr. HCB’s older brother, Derek and his wife, Pat, celebrated their Diamond Wedding Anniversary on 11th October - having been married in 1958.  The middle photograph in my collage shows them on their wedding day, 60 years ago, with a shy, 16 year old Mr. HCB, who was the best man, in the background.  

Of course, there were no digital cameras in those days, so most photographs would be sepia or black and white - I seem to remember that some professional photographers "touched up" wedding photographs to show some colour, but they were few and far between.

We were invited to share Pat and Derek's celebration meal at The Marriott, when 21 members of the family joined to wish them a very happy anniversary.  As with most families, we don’t meet together that often, so it was lovely to catch up with so many of them we hadn’t seen for years.

I wondered how I was going to get anything pink today, but I did have the foresight to take some BCAM ribbons with me and put them on a couple of the many cards Pat and Derek had received, when we went back to their house, after a very nice lunch.

You will see a card with a photograph of the Queen and I took a photograph of the inside of the card, signed personally by Her Majesty - I asked Pat and Derek’s daughter, Sharon, if this card was sent automatically, but she told me that you apply online, sending a copy of the Marriage Certificate, and then a card is sent out in the post.  What a lovely gesture and so special.

So a lovely day of celebration and we have all said that we shouldn’t leave it so long before we get together again - but I daresay our family is not alone in saying that!  HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, Derek and Pat - thank you for inviting us to share in your special day.

Please join me during 
Breast Cancer Awareness Month
By clicking here
So that those who are not able to pay
Can have a free mammogram. 

“Marriage is a life-long journey
     that thrives on love,
          commitment, trust, respect,
               communication, patience 
                    and companionship.”
Ashley Kusi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.