Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Back to the future?

If you find technology bewildering, then it will only get worse. Here is Helen, my first cousin once removed, who works for a large software company. She is involved in the publicity for this prototype device which creates holograms. In my blip, she is demonstrating how to click on a link and change the programme.

It is truly amazing. When I wore it, I could see the world as a globe floating in my hallway. I could walk around it or through it.

One app displayed the night sky all around me and then the planets in their correct relative positions. 

Helen drove from London to Ilkley yesterday, arriving at her parents' house only at 11pm. This morning she drove to us, bringing her lovely girls who are 12 and 7 years old. They were tired and full of cold. If we had known about their long late drive and the colds, we would have stopped their visit.

It would be a bad time for either of us to contract a cold. I'm off on holiday on Monday and then have my operation when I come home. Mum is susceptible to chest infections.......... Fingers crossed that the freely shared germs will not survive up north.

I took them to Vindolanda for running around and interest (and to get them away from Mum). Neither girl was in the mood. 

I left them all there at the end of the afternoon and went to pick up Margret (next door) who has been to Venice. Her train was 30 minutes late due to someone stepping on the line. On her way south, last week, they were delayed 2 hours while the police investigated another fatality. How sad.

Tonight Professor Herbie Newell of our village gave a talk on advances in cancer treatment. He retired 2 years ago from his research job. He wanted people to know about the hope there is in the future (and the present) for improved treatments. Money raised tonight will be split between Cancer UK, who fund huge amounts of research, and Tynedale Hospice, a community resource that provides wonderful care for people at the end of their lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.