Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The joy of old friends

I met Cathy when I went to work as a Paediatric SHO at Southampton General in 1978. She was my registrar. She was very efficient at work, clear thinking and helpful. We became good friends.

One day she introduced me to Phillip, who had come to visit her. Here they are 40 years later and soon to celebrate their Ruby Wedding. Their wedding in Tewkesbury Abbey was very special. We have seen each other over the years and always enjoy time together. C and P are in Newcastle for a few days visiting one of their doctor daughters and their doctor son-in-law. It's a very medical family with only one child escaping the power of the Rod of Aesclipius!

The time was all too short so we chatted quickly. They gave me lunch, then I was off to hospital for my pre-operative assessment. All seems to be well. Blood results awaited.

I now know that I will be in a straight leg splint for 24 hours after the operation and that I will take aspirin to prevent clots rather than have an injected anticoagulant. Mobiles and iPads are allowed.

All good.  Time to take a deep breath and relax for a couple of days (perhaps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.