Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The blooms trigger memories

When I was a young girl, my Dad used to buy chrysanthemums at the local allotments, where keen gardeners produced enormous blooms. When we entered the food hall this afternoon (see below), there were bouquets of 5 blooms for sale and we could not resist them. They bring back lovely memories.

It's been pretty busy today.

I had to put all the toys and games back in the loft this morning and tidy up the house after a few days of (relative) neglect!

We went into Hexham this afternoon, but there were not enough hours for what we had to do.

Boots was our starting point, for a few simple purchases. I asked if they had 'flu jabs in stock and they did, so 10 minutes later, after some form filling, we both had our jabs. Great stuff. We had to wait into November for appointments at our GP surgery.

Then to the opticians. Mum's specs have never been right since she received them, but are worse now. Chris, our lovely optician, is very patient and spends ages making sure that everything is correct. He scanned Mum's left eye because there has been a marked deterioration in her vision, but there was no sign of wet macular degeneration, so we breathed again.

New lenses are required.

I parked Mum in Costa for a latte. (They have an easily accessible disable loo which is the attraction of drinking their coffee!) I dashed off the the bank and to the post office. I now have euros for my next trip.

We did a food shop at M & S, so Mum has meals for when I go away.

All good, but we did not make it to the haberdashery where trousers are to be shortened. Never mind.

 Eric, who was so poorly the other day, 'phoned. He was coherent and there was no slurred speech. In fact he was back to normal. I've had a good chat with him about what needs to happen next and I hope he understands.

Time to put our feet up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.