Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Frost and Gold

Worth getting up for, despite the lack of interesting clouds to set off the rising sun.  In the end I decided on this view, with the sun just risen behind me.

Technical: A focus stack, I wanted good acuity so rather than stopping down the lens to a small aperture I used the facility on the camera and took a series of images at different focal lengths using the focus shifting function.  It's still a bit hit and miss as you have to guess estimate using an arbitrary scale of 1-10 the gap between each shot.


Back home the images were loaded into Helicon Focus for combining into a single image.  Afterwards I wasn't sure whether to have the foreground in focus and background blurred so I've added it as an extra.  Interested to hear what others think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.