Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Frosty day

There was a heavy frost this morning and in many places it has not given all day.

I took Mum to see Will Nicholls' exhibition at the Allendale Forge. He is an excellent photographer and you need to watch out for him in the future. He wants to be a wildlife cameraman and make documentaries. We can certainly recommend Allendale Forge Studios for a visit. There is always original artwork on show and the coffee shop is excellent.

Home was via the Allendale Bakery where I paid £2.50 for a loaf, much to Mum's disgust. It's very good but even so.........

This afternoon I put meal worms out on a little trunk for the birds. I set up my camera and tripod and waited and waited. First they were spooked by the blasting at the nearby quarry, then Mum came out with more food, then one of our cats wandered by. The light was fading fast. I had a 400 mm lens on so I decided to try taking this photo of frosty leaves. It always surprises me when I see how shallow the depth of field is at this focal length. I like the luminance in the red leaf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.