Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

More artificial knees!

Margaret, in my Blip, came here this afternoon to wait for Margret (next door) who had taken Mum to the dentist.

At 90 she remains indefatigable and she has had two new knees. She can walk 5 - 6 miles and is planning her next holiday.

My world is suddenly full of people with artificial knees.

The knee brigade divides into two groups: Group 1 do not remember having any post operative pain; Group 2 had a lot of pain, although it gradually improved. Margaret is in group 1 and I’m in group 2. The pain free group are genuinely amazed about the group with pain. The latter group cannot believe the others, but they should.

Aggie: “I thought you were so very brave today, Arth. It must have been very painful when the nurse removed your clips and you never shouted.”

Arth: sounding just a bit proud of himself, “it was nothing really. It was agony, but I did not want to let the side down! We chaps know how to handle pain.” Imagine Arth saying this in the voice of Martin Jarvis as Just William.

Editorial note: 34 clips were removed and neither Arth nor I hardly felt a thing. Now I can start the knee flexion exercises.

Christine and Henry came this afternoon, with gingerbread. Al come this morning with soup. We are being well cared for by our friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.