Cromer Christmas

It has been a lovely start to our build up to Christmas ( which never starts before December, unlike some branches of my family :-) lol ). Jon Henry and I drove to Alby Crafts to the Christmas Craft fair. We bought a few bits, and had coffee in the funky cafe. It is decorated on the walls and ceilings with vinyl records and record sleeves, plus various other bits you wouldn't normally put on the wall (well, you wouldn't; I probably would given the chance)

Back home, Daniel and Henry went into the loft to get the Christmas decorations. We have a fake tree we've had for years, and a real one. They are both about the same size. So the boys chose to have the real one in the lounge. It isn't a very big tree, but it isn't a very big lounge, so they swapped the conservatory sofa with the bigger lounge one, to make tree space. They did a good job of decorating the trees - well Henry did. Dan got stuck at lights, so I took over on the conservatory tree!

After lunch Jon decorated in preparation for plumbing in the cloakroom sink tomorrow. I drove in to Cromer to do a bit of shopping. There were lots of stalls filling the narrow roads in the centre and going down to the sea, and the main through road was closed to traffic. Jon and the boys joined me about 5. I went round the church looking at the decorated trees and nativity scenes made by local groups. We got fish and chips and then gathered by the church for the big lights switch on. At least it was feeling a bit colder today, although no sign of snow!!

Watched Strictly and then a film. Nice to see the new BBC advert for Christmas was set in Cromer. At least one friend of ours noticed and contacted me. I'd already taken this photo of the pier earlier today. Nice to have a Christmas tree there, but I hope there aren't any strong winds, as we all know how damaging that was a few years ago. That tree would last 2 minutes in a storm.

It's been a nice start to the Christmas season. Now I just need to get the present shopping done and my girl home. 2 weeks count down...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.