Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Anniversary

It got so busy yesterday, I wasn't even able to download my pictures let alone write a few paragraphs, so I am blipping this on the 8th.

A small disclaimer... This blip is very personal. Today is my Dad's birthday. He would have been 78. I can't imagine what he would be like at 78 or how he would have fared through these years, not just healthwise but also all the changes in policies that have been implemented and the rising cost of living. It would have been great to have had the chance to find out though.

G & I drove down to Jebel Ali avoiding Sheikh Zayed Road as they have now put a third toll gate. We saw bits of Dubai we don't normally get to see. My dad's grave is very low maintenance (as you can see) and it didn't take long to wash down the marble and place new "plants". I have to mention this - just for the record... It was really hot. The first week of December and the temperature is still getting up to 30degC. I think winter is officially cancelled this year.

We went on to a supermarket SweetArt used to frequent when she lived here and were shocked to find that Christmas decorations there were cheaper than our shop downstairs! I'm glad we called in. G needed specific things to make sausage rolls for Awana's Christmas special tomorrow.

We then called in at the Dubai Active Show to get the show guide. Poor G had to walk miles from where I dropped her off - a lot of it in the sun. We finally got home around 2pm, very hungry!

The day vanished from then on. G had the baking and prep to do for the Nativity play and I helped put the lyrics on Powerpoint. I then drafted three automated emails for the website. Can't believe how long that took.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.