Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Fallen

It was so cold (for me) last night, the heating got left on at it's lowest setting! It was lovely! That, and a new tartan throw that's been given as a present. It is so soft and light and warm, it feels like a dream!

I woke early enough to see the sunrise and some beautiful colours in the sky. I didn't get out to capture it though! Think I was ready for the day by 10 am. I noticed that the oak tree has shed all but two of its leaves, most of them around the Lodge. Well, today, these three (young) men came along, blowers strapped to their backs, blowing the leaves all over the place to an area where it is easy for the truck to collect it all. An entire road's worth!

More than just a few of these leaves ended up on my decking (captured here for posterity). I thought they might be cleared up, seeing as they were there because of the gardening, but no, they were still around at 6 pm, even after I mentioned it at the Park office.*

We were asked if we'd do a reading (each) yesterday at the Film night. Today, I attended my first Senior's Service ever! What a motivated group of people they are. They took the trouble of getting themselves there, sang heartily and then tucked into sandwiches and cakes. I'd never seen the little WURC church so full! We happened to sit at the table with a lady who had worked with the decoders during WWII. Amazing!

On to a quick Tesco shop straight after. Not the best time to do it as Guildford's traffic was a nightmare. The car temperature gauge said 0 deg C as we drove back. It felt like it too!

* I have to say, after sending an email indicating proof that the leaves hadn't fallen neatly on one side straight from the tree, we came home the next day to find the leaves cleared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.