I’m in love...

...with my new fairy. This fairy is the same age as me. She belonged to mum and dad for 52 years...but today I’ve adopted her. I had to fight back the tears when mum gave her to me - sentimental tears, which gave way to tears of horror when I saw the state of her.

Let me take you back to the beginning. I knew she came from Woolworths. I guess December 1966. The price ticket is still on her wing. 3s 2d. Mum had me in a pushchair, and apparently I wanted to hold her. Of course I did! But I dropped her on the way home. In a muddy puddle (Well I was almost a year old) So once home, mum enhanced our fairy with a new netting skirt, to cover the dirty paper one. She has been the fairy at the top of the Howard Christmas tree ever since. She was/is a key part of Christmas, and my childhood memories of Christmas will always include her.

Dad was sent up in the loft a week or so ago, to find the decorations, and fairy was in the box knocking about with all the other bits. She was a bit worse for wear. One wing had come off completely, and her net dress was unravelling. Her wand no longer in her hand. She was a sorry sight, but I’ve fixed her. She has a bit of glue still drying, and then tomorrow I will take great pleasure in putting her on top of my tree. I’m thrilled to have her now, as she can be enjoyed by everyone, including mum and dad who will be with us for Christmas Day.

I hope I haven’t bored you, with my gushing over a vintage plastic Christmas decoration! We have done other things today - mainly wandering around the shops in Sheringham and then Cromer. It was beautifully cold. A nice biting wind. Just how it should be at Christmas. We had a coffee and scone out, and the afternoon has been spent at home. I’ve started my wrapping, had a cuppa and catch up with mum and dad, and watched the Strictly final. Super happy with that result.

Tomorrow we are out for a celebratory meal for the birthday girl. Food is the way to our Mollie’s heart....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.