Oops, not a Happy Cyclamen!

Oops doesn’t cover this plant disaster. A cyclamen in rude health with all its variegated leaves perky, its flowers standing straight as guardsmen and the buds looking very cheeky as they waited in the wings to pop up, was delivered to me as a present on Wednesday by a neighbour.
I listened attentively as the watering instructions were gone through and I thought I was told a cool environment was beneficial. However this poor cyclamen decided that the dining room window overnight on Wednesday was ‘cool’ taken to extremes and despite having tender nursing care since then, has decided to die slowly and inexorably.

I have put a poly bag over it to provide a kind of cold frame but it has clear intentions of getting the hell out of the ice box that masquerades as the Dower House in a east wind. I feel dreadful. I hope this neighbour doesn’t ask me how it’s doing should I see her soon.
What with trying to keep all the leaves on my beautiful Poinsettia and checking up on my baby Anthurium and my Peace Lily, I am feeling very put upon.

The toast this morning was all it was cracked up to be, just in case you are wondering!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.