Family history

Up and out by 10 to see the mad Cromer folk taking the Boxing Day dip in the sea by the pier. Madness. It was heaving with onlookers, and even though we were there early, we still couldn’t get anywhere close for a good view. There seemed to be more dippers this year than last. All in a good cause, and they all seemed in good spirits (or just full of them perhaps?!)

Home and Jon and I took a walk around the village with the dog, via the chickens. It is good planning time. We make lots of plans as we walk; we do similar on long car journeys. Once back home, we struggle to put plans into practice. Hopefully, we will start tomorrow.

A buffet lunch, and we suddenly all felt shattered, so a rest before heading next door for a lovely curry dinner. I got a Filofax for Christmas. The idea being all my lists can be collated into one! I’m going to try! I can’t do it electronically as I’ve tried that. For the first time ever, we have things planned for next year; a night out in March and weekend away for our anniversary in April, so I’ve added them to the diary.

After our curry we relaxed in the lounge, and I chatted to dad about his life. Specifically 1939 to about 1953. After that, he says nothing much happened!!! I will catch up with him again, and tackle another subject. Motorcycling - his first love, will be next. Here he is showing me the photo of him and his sister taken in Marlingford at Easter 1940. They were sent there for the first 10 months of the war, as their grandmother (my great grandmother) ran a small shop in the village, just west of Norwich. Proof I have Norfolk blood in me somewhere!

Heading back home now (next door!) to watch a bit of tv. And to make some lists in my Filofax ahead of tomorrow’s ‘beginning to sort out’ day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.