Woolly mammoth, sabre-tooth tiger and dodo

We so much enjoyed our trip to the display of Chinese lanterns at Edinburgh Zoo earlier this year that we made a return visit this evening. Of the many photos that I took, Mr hazelh and I agreed that this was the best. It is of the final display, which depicts extinct creatures: the woolly mammoth, sabre-tooth tiger and dodo.

This time we were accompanied by to the zoo my nephew Paddy and his girlfriend Caitlin, who are staying with us for a few days. Afterwards the four of us had a fabulous Chinese meal at Cool Jade, just across the road from the zoo.

My middle sister and brother-in-law drove Paddy and Caitlin up to Edinburgh from Holy Island earlier in the day. We enjoyed a jolly lunch together around the kitchen table, and I amused my brother-in-law (who hasn't visited us for a while) by showing him the new, improved study (featuring the famous £80 charity shop sofa) and all my systems for organising my various belongings, from Tupperware and carrier bags to bedding and boots.

I also saw Véronique and Tzippi this morning when I popped up to their house to frame a picture, and Katharine and Jack when I did the same in the other direction to deliver soup and collect a cycling helmet.

Exercise today: walking (17,754 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.