Be great every day!

Today was my first day back to work since Christmas Eve and as usual there was a little trepidation, but it went well.  It was very busy, as I knew it would be, but it made the day go quite quickly.  
 
For Christmas I got this Daily Greatness journal (its something I wanted to get for a while) and over the break I read through the introductory pages and filled in the information. It is a daily journal for one to create daily inspirations, reflections and over 90 days make positive changes. 
 
I was very pleased to read that it encourages mindfulness and daily meditations. My academic reading on the subject continues to fascinate me and support how fundamentally important meditation is in one’s wellbeing.  
 
So, this morning, I started the day with some yoga and meditation and I am positive it sets me up well for the day ahead.
 
After work, my daughter had to go off to gymnastics and then I took my son swimming and I sat with my friend Jo and chatted for the two hours whilst I knitted and she crocheted. I really value her friendship and I am positive she values mine and we offer words of support and understanding about the difficulties life throws at us.  
 
I would like to continue my journal this year with daily quotes and today I choose this one:
 
“Don’t watch the clock; do what it does.  Keep going.” Sam Levenson.
 
Time is a funny thing. It passes so quickly and yet some things can seem like they happened so long ago. One thing is certain and that is time will never stop. We must keep going. Looking back on past event gives us opportunity for reflection but can also debilitate us if we dwell on things and over analyse events, our responses to them and how they made us feel. We can however look forward and create positivity in our future by making small changes in our daily lives. By slowing down and being more present in everything we do, we can learn to enjoy and appreciate the here and now, making a more fulfilling existence.  
 
Here is to the future! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.