Carpet Bargain Store

A human! Well, two in fact, as you can just about see my reflection in the window.

Strictly speaking, it's a #leithwalkshop, but with a bit of a difference.

This is one of a couple of shops embedded in the base of the railway bridge that used to run over Leith Walk just by the junction with Jane Street and Manderston Street. It is at the end of the row of shops that are under threat from demolition.

I took a picture of the outside the normal way, and then realised that someone was waving at me from the window. The proprietor - who tells me that the family have been here since the 1960s - was keen to talk, so we had a chat. They are apparently safe from demolition, not least because apparently there is a curved window to the right of the door as you look at it which is "protected". The things you learn....

Worked at home today, and took a swim. The fitbit thought I'd done 1800 metres. Nonsense. Even 60, or possibly 62 lengths at 25 yards a go is only just over 1300 metres. None the less reasonably pleased with myself as I've not swum since the tooth flared up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.