Getting there...

It would appear I’m in Hoddesdon for a rest, as I didn’t wake up until 9.50am when mum appeared with a cup of tea and a mince pie. Who knows what time I would have slept to. Our alarm goes off at 8 at the weekend at home.

I drove over to Manda’s where we spent 3 hours going through old cigarette cards. Manda has our grandads collection of them, and Neil had given me his grandads ‘spares’. Neil, you will be pleased to hear we managed to complete 5 of Manda’s sets with the spares. Still a few more to go through. I’m going to leave them with Manda.

After lunch, we picked up mum and went over to Harlow. Nothing much has changed with dad, so after a few enquiries with the staff we arranged to get dad out of bed. He hadn’t moved since yesterday. He had a bit of a walk, to the loo and back. No Dr has been round - apparently they are few and far between at weekends. We presume they are not worried about him, so will see what happens tomorrow. It looks like he may not be discharged until Monday. He does still need disconnecting from various things.

Home briefly for some tea, then we will go back for the evening visiting. At least this afternoon I sat on the bed rather than the floor (there is only one chair per bed for visitors) I’ll drop Manda home later, then probably another early night!

The brakes on my car sound horrendous now. I’m worried about it. Fingers crossed it gets me home and can last until Thursday. I feel a big bill coming my way. Checking out loan rates. It’s been the kind of start to the New Year I don’t need. Let’s hope I’m wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.