Sunday jobs

It has been a day full of ironing, and washing as there is always so much washing in this house. This week I’ve done my share of loading the machine, and even got two loads out on the line today to dry partially. Looking forward to having less hanging around the house. It is the main time the house feels too small.

When Jon and Henry came back from archery we had a coffee and biscuits in the conservatory which was very civilised. There we discussed our highest priorities as far as the garden and allotment are concerned. In addition, Jon hadn’t bought me a birthday present because he had planned to take me out to choose something, and then that didn’t happen because I was ill. I’d been looking at rotavators yesterday online, comparing cost, size etc. Henry found this one in stock at Homebase, and hey presto I have an exciting birthday present! We won’t be able to try it out until next Sunday, but I’m hopeful that it will reduce the digging we need to do, as both Jon and I find that hard.

I made the meringue I hadn’t managed to do at Christmas and was very pleased with it. Made with my Kenwood chefette, which my old nanna bought me when I was about 17. It only took about 10 minutes! Who needs one of those £400 fancy machines that are all the rage?

I didn’t do any gardening today, but Jon managed to use his Kadai for the first time to burn some old rubbishy bits of wood. He is so at home by a fire! It was my Christmas present to him, and handily his birthday in February means we can add to it with other things from the Kadai range.

I’ve had a lovely bath, and now it’s some good tv, so I must finish up quickly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.