Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In and around Humshaugh - Tiny Tuesday

When I went for my walk this morning, my eye was caught by these tiny blossoms in the hedge on a field boundary. It is a mixed hedge, but I suspect this is a garden escapee.

Further investigation reveals it is Lonicera x purpusii, a winter flowering honeysuckle. As such, it does not truly meet the Tiny Tuesday criterion of "Out of Season". It's a species I knew nothing about and I wonder if one might prosper in our garden. (Handheld in the wind.)

On my way home, I felt as though I had cramp, but I now think it's a pulled muscle in my thigh. On top of that, Arth has been in a lot of pain today for no obvious reason. I collapsed into bed after lunch, feeling exhausted and thought a sleep might help.

Just after I woke, there was a ring on the doorbell, but noone came in. You may remember that we have a notice on the door to encourage people to enter because we are so slow to answer. I grabbed my dressing gown and hastened downstairs. 

At the door were three unknown but friendly faces. (For one moment I thought it was Jehovah's witnesses!) No, it was Richard and David Bolt and Richard's wife, Masami. (See extra.) The Bolt parents lived in this house from the 80s. Richard and Masami now live in Vancouver, having travelled and worked all over the world. Whilst visiting David, who is relatively local, they decided to call and ask if we still have the Japanese maple, planted over 30 years ago.

There is no acer in my garden and I now know, courtesy of Margret next door, that it died in one particularly hard winter.

It was too dark for them to see around the garden.

The house was not in the best state for reminiscent viewing (use your imagination!) but we were able to go into my lounge (the room with the big view when it is light outside). We had a great chat and could have gone on for hours if they had not had to go elsewhere.They left with warm invitations to visit them in Vancouver or Japan.

I decided that Arth was not fit to go to the cinema tonight, so Richard II will have to wait for another showing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.