Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Dogs of Humshaugh

Following on from my series of "cats in Humshaugh", I am adding to a previous partial series of "dogs in Humshaugh"!

I was so sad to hear yesterday that Ann no longer has the companionship of Molly the gorgeous collie and I'm posting a Humshaugh collie in tribute. Soon after I joined Blipfoto I started to follow Molly's page. I've met Ann and Molly and have loved the friendship we have forged. Ann did a great job in rescuing Molly and it has been a joy to watch them over the years.

I pretended to go walking this morning and drove to Hexham where I visited Aldi and Tesco. I'm not supposed to handle a heavy trolley yet. Phew! I intended NOT to do a big shop, but there were quite a few things we needed to stock up on. Not least a good value bottle of gin in Aldi!

I then had a short walk in the village where I met this beautiful girl and her owner. She is a senior citizen with arthritis in her paws, so goes only for short walks.

I've been trawling online to find tasty, interesting recipes for soft food for Mum, who can't swallow much that is solid these days. I decided to make potato cakes from a recipe. In the past I would have just shaped the mash into a flat cake and fried it. These had flour and egg added and I added finely chopped and sauteed mushroom and cheese. I thought the mixture looked stiff so I added a few ml of milk. Hm. It became an unmanageable gloop. 

It tasted OK but it was impossible to make decent cakes.

How I managed to use as many pans and utensils I don't know, but the kitchen was in quite a mess. The one saving grace was that none was in my hair as far as I know.

Bring on Quizzy Monday to take our minds off the vote tomorrow. I'm going to watch Richard II instead of listening to Parliament tomorrow evening.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.