Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Blowing In The Wind

All day the sky was filled with wispy, wind blown clouds.  It was a completely unique sky.  So I bet the farm that there would be a decent chance of a pretty sunset and didn't take any other photos today.

The weather was warm and wonderful.  We sat out back in the morning with our coffee then got Mom a haircut and went out for lunch.  After arriving home, I went back out onto the patio with my Dad's old football stadium binoculars and looked close up at a few of the birds.  Honestly, just getting that close up view with your own eyes on these little fellows is amazing.  I don't think any camera can capture it.  There were several house finches in the ocotillo, all facing the warm late afternoon sun.  The red on the males in that sunlight was amazingly vibrant.  A White-crowned sparrow seemed spectacular.  And a sight never witnessed by these eyes: a hummingbird taking three hops along the wall before taking off.

As it got cooler back there in the shade, I grabbed a camera and sat in the driveway in anticipation of the sunset.  I got out there way too early, got bored so called my brother Andy (he an expert landscape photographer).  He had previously sent me a couple of shots of the blood moon.  He said it was raining cats and dogs in Reno that night so they drove over 130 miles to get a clear shot.  There were a lot of good ones on blipfoto but these would have knocked your socks off.  Imagine the moon, not super cropped, but surrounded by a million stars. While we were talking he told me of a site (yikes, I can't remember it...somethingwx.com) which gives you the odds of colorful sunsets wherever you are.  He looked me up and said the site said that I would get, well, what I got.  I have three younger brothers but he's the only one whose interests align with mine and I love talking to him.  I was shooting as we spoke.

A pun scientific debate:
Q: What's the difference between weather and climate?
A: You can't weather a tree, but you can climate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.