Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

What's in a name? Origins

I liked jensphotos choice for today's Mono Monday challenge.

My name on Blipfoto is WalkingMarj and my journal is called Marjorie's Ramblings.


I think the reason is pretty self evident. I'm a keen walker and I live in Northumberland near to some of the best walking country in the world (imho). When I chose the name for the journal, I chose ramblings because of the double meaning. My followers will confirm that I can ramble on a bit!

Today I drove to nearby Limestone Corner on Hadrian's Wall. This is where the Romans were defeated by the rocks and had to divert the wall a little. It was a brilliant sunlit day. I have added the colour extra. On this occasion I do prefer the colour one.

It was bitterly cold and I had forgotten my camera strap, so I could not walk far. I also had to work hard to use the 10 second timer and find a suitable shot.

After lunch I drove to Wark for another short walk. The river level was low so it was easy to cross to Gold Island. I had it almost to myself. There are surprisingly few snowdrops out, but it was lovely just to be there, walking very gingerly.

PS In case you do not usually see my journal, I had a total knee replacement just 11 weeks ago. Wearing boots again is a huge achievement in my mind, but I have to avoid overdoing things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.