Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A waking nightmare!

You know the sort of nightmares where you cannot get to where you need to be? Read on.........

Today started for Mum with another nose bleed. That was disappointing for her and we need a plan B now.

After doing a few indoor tasks, I dressed warmly and headed for the garage for more of the dreaded "sorting out". I had boxes of bottles and piles of cardboard in the boot, when Mum realised that one of her hearing aids was not working.

We both tried every which way to no avail. We checked extra batteries in case one was dead, etc., etc.,

The first appointments to fix it at Hexham or Cobridge were 2 weeks away so I opted for the drop in at the Freeman in Newcastle. I was going to go tomorrow, but then thought I should try to go today. Mum is lost when she can't hear. I'm not taking her because it's a long wait amongst coughs and sneezes.

No problem, just a change of plan.

The traffic was awful. I arrived at the Freeman to find the roads on the site in grid lock. It must be because of visitors in the afternoon. After about 10 minutes I was able to drive around the back of the hospital to the multi storey car park. By the time I reached floor 7 I was a bit tired and public parking is only on 1 - 3 anyway. 

I found a tight space on floor 2 and set off for the outpatients. The signs sent me a long way round. It was cold and damp.

I felt in my pocket for the hearing aid box and it was not there. I started to return to the car to see where I had put it, when I noticed there had been missed calls and texts. You've guessed? I'd left it at home.

All I had to do was get the car out of the tight space. It took me ages. My car bleeps and screams at me when it is near to walls or other vehicles. Eventually I succeeded and left.

I called at the Ouseburn for my blip. This is a trendy artistic area with a lot of street art. There is no one subject in my image, but a lot to see. (Probably reflects my state of mind by this point!).  Look out for the red triangle that warns of riders on horses????

I texted Julie to see if she was in. She was hospital visiting but would be home by 4. I struggled through the traffic to her house, only pausing to buy a chocolate bar on the way. (Very necessary.) She was not back and texted to say she had meant to say 5 not 4.

I came home.

Tomorrow I will go earlier and remember to take the hearing aid too.

I have woken up now.

PS Oscar seemed a bit better this morning but is limping so we kept him in this afternoon. He hates it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.