Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Relationships with health care professionals

It's Tiny Tuesday and my two small friends here are illustrating my day.

It started with an early morning GP consultation about the nerve pain following my knee replacement. That was quite straightforward and I'm to keep on with the Gabapentin for now. I think the problem is slowing resolving.

Then I asked the GP to talk with me about how I best access the primary care services for Mum. It's the problem with continuity of care or rather the lack of it. We have a very good primary care service in many ways, but the GPs don't follow up their elderly patients now that home visits are so rare. They each do visits on one or two days a week, so you see the doctor on duty that day, rather than the one who knows you and has been making decisions about you.

I realise that I sound like a grumpy old GP, but I really enjoyed getting to know my patients. It helped to understand how and why they reacted as they did. The new system, I am told, is a team approach and has benefits of not seeing the same person each time. "That's the system." I did gently suggest that it is possible to work around systems - (I did that a lot, so I know about it!) - but I'm not sure how well that went down. The GP is a lovely woman and Mum would like to see her. I'd like help with regular advice on a number of the medical challenges we face.

Then to see Heidi, my wonderful physio. She was delighted with Arth. I think he is still blushing! We are discharged unless we have problems and she told me what to expect over the next weeks. Sadly, Heidi is moving on to another job, so I won't see her again. She has been a wonderful support over the last few years - just whenever I have needed her. She has provided continuity of care, but, of course, I had to go privately to find that.

I arrived home just in time for the district nurse to arrive. I was not at all keen for the dressing to be taken off Mum's leg yet. The nurse started by telling me that steristrips are not advised for leg gashes any more. I should have covered the wound and called for the district nurse on Saturday. When I explained that I had been keen to close this wound quickly - and that the nurse did not have large dressings when she came.....

We had one of those awkward conversations where I was trying to mollify her, but still stop her from removing the dressing. We agreed that the wound does not look infected and should be left alone. She relaxed a bit - it's obviously not easy having an retired doctor as your patient's carer. She did say I had done a good job in the circumstances. Phew!

I found the discussions tiring. I want to get the best for Mum and to work with the surgery. I hope they can come up with a plan for her care that works for us all. 

I think my patient in my blip looks a bit anxious. We often do when we are around doctors and nurses, hoping they will be kind to us and realise that we are very vulnerable, whatever our background.

Ann came and spent time with Mum while I was away this morning and Bob came this afternoon. Lovely to have friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.