Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Fairest of them All

We have so many cardinals in our garden this winter - more than I can ever remember. And each is dazzling. But this one, well, she's special.  She has such beautiful wash of reddish-orange on her breast, making her stand out from all the others.  And she seems to know that she's something special because she definitely holds court.  So, when I see her fly in, I smile and say, softly to myself, "hello, Brighty".

Several hours in the hide today, in spite of frigid temps.  I enjoy being outside with just the soft sounds of wildlife around me.  Squirrels were cavorting in the snow, and birds were coming and going, as they do.  

Hubs and I went to the gym and then got a quick lunch before he picked his mum up to bring her over to our house.  She had a good visit, and so did we.  She's been in good spirits lately, even though her memory is measured in seconds now.

Hubs is heading out of town for a few days tomorrow.  I'll miss him, as always.  There's a slight chance for some snow tomorrow which would be nice as I'd like to get some birds in snow shots on the final day of the GBBC.  Today's blip, by the way, will be one of my entries in this year's photo contest for the Bird Count.

Cheers...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.