Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Flower Friday (and more)

Can't believe how fast last week went! We got to church in Al Barsha and then headed straight to the Last Exit in Khwaneej mainly to enjoy the cooler weather while we still have it. It was funny to see a family from the congregation who had done exactly what we did, except we'd already got our food and were just about to start eating!

Unfortunately, I forgot my camera at home but did take my new phone, so these are all phone pictures. I think this is just one of two times that we have been at The Yard during daylight. The 1957 Fairlane 500 classic car is a huge magnet.

We came home on a long circuitous route, driving through old Deira to see all the changes. The Creek and Gold Souk area are taking a real hammering with massive redevelopment which is totally going to take away its old character. Oh well.

Home, and I finally had time to suss out how to enjoy listening to CDs on my stereo. The Sony Discman I got for my 40th birthday has finally given up the ghost. I was pleasantly surprised to discover I had already wired the DVD player to the amp, so the job didn't take long at all. The stereo got a good dusting though, and while I was in fixing mode, some papers/mags finally got sorted too! Actually, it was quite scary to find some important papers buried there. It's incredible how much gets done if the TV isn't on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.