Frieze at HSBC, Hexham

I love this frieze, which decorates the HSBC building in Hexham.

My great grandfather (1882-1962) worked here as bank manager for 37 years from 1912 until 1947. His career with the Midland started on 15th August 1898 when, on the recommendation of his brother, he was appointed  as a junior on a salary of £20 a year at the Morecambe branch of the bank. His second posting was to Preston. Here he worked from 1903 until he moved to Hexham for the third and final post of his 49 year banking career. His retirement in 1947 was marked by a reception at the Abbey Hotel, Hexham, and the award of a French chiming clock.

My extra shows my great grandfather in the bank in 1929. I think that it is quite easy to tell who is the manager in this shot. Mummy hazelh always says that Captain Mainwaring reminds her of her grandpa for his moustache and ginger hair.

We were in Hexham this afternoon to sign some papers at the solicitor's office. My not-so-little sister drove over from Newcastle to meet us for lunch in the Abbey café, and then the meeting about my father's will.

Earlier in the day we enjoyed a mini-blipmeet with walkingMarj and her mother. Evidence of this can be seen on walkingMarj's journal entry for today.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.