Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Life is momentary and fragile

I have learned a few things today.

The younger generation relies on mobile phones. When the company appointed to deal with the dampness from the leak could not contact me on my mobile (they had been given the wrong number), they did not think to use The Phone Book. This delayed the job by two days.

Nowadays you have to sign a form to say you will allow workmen to have access to water and - wait for it - a loo! If not, they have to bring a portaloo and water in bottles.

There are floor tiles called thermoplastic tiles.

Thermoplastic floor tiles contain asbestos.

If the flooring under the laminate floor in my kitchen is thermoplastic, then appropriate safety measures will have to be employed to remove it.

The leak in the kitchen may be completely independent of the dishwasher, just coincidental.

If a surveyor is doing work at home, he does not bring his tool bag. Thankfully he came to a house where an Allen key was to hand, plus pliers.

Both the surveyor and the man from the dampness company (not sure what to call them) were very helpful and easy to work with. I found that the kitchen floor might be taken up this afternoon, before I have emptied the kitchen cupboards, so I asked them to wait until next week.


Mum has had to suddenly move into the small spare bedroom. I'm hoping she will not fall out of bed because she has to get in from "the wrong side".


Whilst moving furniture, I found this tiny butterfly. It is very well preserved and deserved to be recorded on Blip.

I may sleep very well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.