Portrait Gallery

BB was coughing like a seal and still had his sore throat and general malaise, but was determined to play rugby.  Fuelled with porridge and calpol he went on to get man of the match again!!  They got beat, but it was a good game, with BB scoring a couple of tries.  He does give his all from the start to the finish and I can guarantee that he will be aching all over tomorrow.  He had to get home quickly, wash the mud off and get ready for his first ever game at Murrayfield.  I followed them into Edinburgh a bit later.

It was freezing.  I had an errand to do for BB, and after that I really wasn’t in the mood for looking in shops, so I popped into the Portrait Gallery for a look and to warm up.  I was lucky to catch the BP Portrait Award exhibition as it finishes tomorrow, and being so late in the afternoon, it wasn’t busy.  It closed at 5pm and I (and everyone else) was ushered back out into the cold.  I was to meet up with the boys and friends, although the time was a movable feast as they made their way back into town.  Eventually we did meet up for a couple of drinks and then moved on to a restaurant for food, and were joined by more friends and kids.  We have all been friends for many years, but rarely get the opportunity to all go out together – kids have made this tricky!  Anyway, it was great to catch up with everyone and of course we hope to see everyone again – sooner rather than later.

We got the bus home and BB had some more calpol before bed.  He enjoyed his first trip to Murrayfield but wished that Scotland had won.

It’s a while since I have been in the Portrait gallery.  I just love the entrance hallway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.