Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Promoted to Glory

That's a Salvation Army term that I was reminded of last Friday when we were at the united meeting. It seems fitting to use it today. There's been great sadness as we learnt this afternoon that our friend Margaret passed away yesterday after a brief fight with cancer. We hadn't known Margaret long at all. This picture was taken on 11th August 2016 just two weeks after we first met. Whilst going through pictures this evening, I came across this journal entry from the same month. I'm so glad we got to see Margaret briefly at Christmas time. It was so important, we visited a few hours after we landed.

I had another seaplane ride in the morning, this time with KarenC. I took my motion sickness tablet at the prescribed time, but it didn't help much. I think the wind was stronger today and I actually reached out for the sick bag for the first time ever in my whole life! Thankfully, I managed to get a few decent shots prior to that. My extra is especially for SweetArt who had associations with the Grand Hyatt before she left Dubai in 2005. The sharp-eyed among you might have spotted The Frame. The second extra is of Dubai's original skyline and still my favourite part of it. I'll be busy the next few days taking out the haze editing the pictures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.