Horsey Gap, Norfolk

Today we had a lovely drive out to the East of the county, through some beautiful villages (which we intend to revisit by bike or motorbike) to Horsey Gap. We had already discussed driving down to Yarmouth as I'd got the day off and both Jon and Henry are at home on a Friday. Last night on one of the news items I saw them visit Horsey Gap where the seals can often be seen on the beach or in the sea close to the shore. That gave us an excuse to explore somewhere new, that was on our doorstep.

Shopping in Lidl first, and then we went out about 11, prepared for a day out I'd made a little picnic. The first of the year! The drive was beautiful; through villages not far from us, but places we hadn't needed to drive through before. So even the drive there was pleasant. We parked in the beach car park, paying £3 for 2 hours. I guess in summer it would be very full, but today a handful of cars. Then we wandered along the beach for perhaps 15 minutes and we spotted our first youngster. The black one in my extras. In all we saw 3, making sure we didn't go too close. I had my zoom lens. The black one did growl at us. In the sea the adults bobbed up and down, fishing I expect. It was a really nice hour or so. We walked back through the dunes to the car park, and plan to visit again. Probably not during peak season though, but that's the beauty of living up here, isn't it? We can go at any time.

We drove back via the coast to Overstrand where we stopped at a garden centre for a mooch about and a cup of tea. Then on to Sheringham for more of the same while Henry got his hair cut.

It has been a nice day off. Now a bit of tv. Tomorrow I will start sewing together my leggings pieces! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.