BLOSSOM

Neil had a day off today and he decided to come here to keep me company.  He arrived around 12 noon .  First thing he did was look in the fridge for the food he had asked me to buy.  He had asked for a " giant pasta ready meal" so I bought him a chorizo and  bolognese pasta bake in Morrisons.  It was meant for 2 people but Neil polished off the whole lot. 

No letter arrived about my scan. ( Turns out I was a fool to expect it this week anyway ) Wasn't sure what to do next.  Mulled over a few possibilities and in the end I rang my doctors surgery asking to speak to my doctor - the one I saw on Tuesday.  I was happy to have a phone appointment if I couldn't see her in person.  I was told the next available appointment with her was on 30th April.  So then I asked to speak to the secretary and I was put through.  She said the scan appointment was asked for on Tuesday and the normal timeline for a routine scan appointment was 4 - 6 weeks.  But I could ring the radiology dept at the hospital to see when I could expect a letter about my appointment.

So I rang the hospital.  They said my name was in their records and I could expect an appointment in 4 - 6 weeks as it was a routine appointment.  I asked her how long I would have to wait if it was  an urgent appopintment.  That would be 3 weeks.  The only way my appointment could be changed from routine to urgent would be to see my own GP and she could arrange to change it.  ( I got the impression that trying to change the appointment is like trying to " jump the queue". Of course I realise that everyone ahead of me in the queue was also having to wait up to 6 weeks.)

But I don't fancy being in pain for as long as 6 weeks so I got on the phone to the Health Centre.  I used the automated line to try and get an early appointmnet.  No appointments available.  Went online -- earliest appointment 30th April. ( I actually made an appointment for that date - just in case I need it. I can always cancel it if I don't. )   Couldn't be bothered to do any more.  Feel as though I'm banging my head against a brick wall  Just have to try and stick it out until I get the scan appointment.  NHS does  seem to be struggling.

I needed to go to the village to collect my repeat prescription and get some shopping.  Neil wanted some shopping too so we went together.  We also popped into the churchyard so I could get my blip shot.  I knew there would be plenty of blossom on the trees so I could get a photo for Flower Friday.  Thanks to BikerBear for hosting.

The weather was dry but very windy while we were out but later on it started raining heavily. 

Neil stayed here until his girlfriend came to collect him in the car after she had finished work. 


Steps today - 6,363

Sad news.  My friend Jan's little Jack Russell dog had to be put to sleep today.  Kidney failure.  He hadn't been well all week.  He was 13 years old.  He used to belong to Jan's mother in law Doreen but Jan and her husband took him in when Doreen went into a care home.  He had the best life with them.  They will miss him terribly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.