Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Yowsa! Yowsa! Yowsa!

Look who is visiting my yard.  It's a male Rufous hummingbird.  Big deal?  YES!  I haven't gotten a photograph of a Rufous in at least three years.  They are stunning little guys, especially the males.  I managed to capture a lot of color which absolutely thrills me.  I've given up trying to shoot birds at sunrise (or anytime before the sun is at its zenith) because of the terrible back light.  Now, I go out when the sun is lower and one particular feeder is lit by the sun from the west.  I got this fella at 5:37 pm.

I saw a flash of color a few days ago and thought it was an Anna's hummingbird.  My first thought was to shout, "the migration is here!" That scared the crap out of my mother.  This winter I've had only Black-chinned and Costa's hummingbirds.  I hope I sound as excited as I am.  I even posted it on eBird.

Now I'm looking forward to my stay in Madera Canyon April 2-6 even more. Lots more. 

Yippee, the spring migration has arrived.  Yowsa!!!

Q: Why do scientists think humming birds hum?
A: Because they can't remember the words!



Ta da!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.