Cliffs

I had to get up early today and catch the bus I normally take to work.  It wasn’t so bad though as I was meeting a friend and we were heading off to meet another friend.  First off, I had to pop into the office to pick something up, then I had to do a bit of early morning shopping.  I was in good time for the train.  We were heading to Alnmouth, where our friend M was to pick us up.  It was all very efficient and we were there in just over an hour.  We drove into Alnmouth itself, then sat chatting in the car, before going for a  wee wander.  We ended up in a tea shop where I had the biggest toasted teacake imaginable.  We sat in the tea shop for a  very long time.  We had a lot of  catch up with as we haven’t all been together for a very long time.  Many people came and went, before we decided to move on.  We had another wander before driving to Craster.

R and I bought kippers, and we then walked to Dunstaburgh Castle.  Although it was breezy, it wasn’t cold and it was very clear.  We had a lovely walk there and back.  We came back to the pub in Craster, hoping for some food, but it had just stopped selling food.  Bad timing!  We had to have a drink instead.  All too soon, it was time to head back for our train.  We only just made it as the sat nav took us the wrong way!

We were back in Edinburgh before we knew it, after a lovely day out.  Unfortunately I just missed a bus, and had to hang around for a while in the cold.  I was weary and hungry by the time I got home.

These are the cliffs on which Dunstaburgh Castle was built.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.